How is my MCP42100 digital pot working with no power or ground?

Hi, I'm new to electronics and Arduino and have been teaching myself online.
I'm working on a project to replace an analog joystick on an old console with a MCP42100 digital pot. I am interfacing it to a Teensy 4.1 using SPI.

I initially had trouble getting it working until I disconnected power and ground from pins 14 and 4, and left just the SPI lines and the lines to the console's pot lines.

In the pic:
1 - Blue CS from Teensy
2 - Green SCK from Teensy
3 - Yellow MOSI from Teensy
5 and 10 - "POT C" +5v from console
6 and 7 - "POT X" from console
8 and 9 - "POT Y" from console

This is working well despite pins 4 (GND) and 14 (VDD) not being connected on the MCP42100 but I don't understand why. Are the POT lines or the SPI lines powering it, and is this normal? Why would adding power and ground from the Teensy prevent it from working?

EEVblog #831: EEVblog #831 - Power A Micro With No Power Pin! - YouTube.

Every chip has internal ESD protection diodes. If at least one pin is connected to GND and at least one pin to VCC, then the chip might start working.

The breadboard power rails are:
Left side is +5v and ground from the console. This goes to the Teensy 4.1 Vin and GND pins.
Right side is +3.3v and ground from the Teensy 4.1's 3.3V and GND pins.
The Teensy specifies it is not 5 volt tolerant. I planned to run the digital pot control off 3.3 and keep the 5v (POT C) just on the PB0 (pin 10) and PB1 (pin 5) lines, assuming they are isolated from the control parts of the chip.

I made some changes to my layout, lifting pin 11 and 12 to the 3.3v power, and adding a ground line from pin 4 to the 3.3v rail's ground. This is all working well.

When I add a line from pin 14 (Vdd) to my 3.3v supply, it stops working. This is the part I don't understand. I verified the voltages on the rails with a meter.

Any help or illumination is appreciated!

Koepel: