How many LEDs can I attach to a duemilanove alone?

Hey I just got a Duemilanove kit, and I want to use it to power a lot of LED's. I have about 100 common cathode RGB LEDs that I never used on my last project and I want to make a giant strip out of them for my ceiling.

So I guess my question is, how many RGB LED's can I power, using only the Duemilanove? If it is substantially less than 100, what do I need in order to be able to power all of them.

Please note that I want it so that all LEDs are the same color at the same time, so there is no need to worry about a second channel or something.

Sorry if this is in the wrong section also! im a newb

Your question is just fine. Your project will need some drivers.

I just answered this way in another thread:

One standard LED per digital output pin (with limiting resistor) is fine. You start to get into trouble when you're using high-power LEDs or multiple-LED strings on each output pin, such as matrices. There are cheap LED driver chips that work for most POV systems. Which one you choose depends on your intentions.

If you want all your LEDs in a single row, you can still wire it up like it's a matrix, with one common cathode or anode per eight LEDs or so. But you'll need to be driving these from a multiplexing package like a couple 74HC595 chips (a dollar each) or a MAX7219 (about $10 per 64 LEDs).

I'm not sure I understand if you're asking a PIN/CPU question, or a power question. If you want a single RGB "strip", so that you're only driving 3 "signals" (changing the color of your strip, but lighting or not lighting ALL of the LEDs at once), then your main limit is the power available at a single pin, and on the Arduino board as a whole (although there are many ways to boost this.)

If you want to have the LEDs light in animated patterns or similar, then you have pin/CPU issues as well (and there are many ways to handle these as well.)

Could you clarify?