How many LEDS?

I need to build a circuit that will light 36 LEDS at the same time. I only need one flip switch to turn the thing on/off. I'm not sure if I even need an Arduino, but I don't what circuit I would need. If someone could give an example circuit with an explanation, I would greatly appreciate it. I know this is probably uber-simple, but I'm new to this and really need this to work

You need to figure a few things out first:

a) What's the specs on the LEDs? Voltage? Amps? b) How do you plan on wiring them, serial or parallel?

At the very least, you need a power supply to drive them, its output will be determined by the above two questions.

If you have a high-enough voltage you can string them all together in series and use one current-limiting resistor.

If your voltage is lower you can make strings of several LED's, each string with a current limiting resistor, and put the strings in parallel.

What is your supply voltage? What is the forward voltage of each LED? What is the current requirement of each LED?

http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz

Look at the datasheet for your LED and find the forward voltage. It should be something like 1.9 ~ 2.5. If these are regular leds, you can just enter 2.5 to be safe.

Source voltage is your battery. It needs to be greater than the forward voltage of the LEDs, so a single AA battery won’t work. Two will give you 3v, so that would be fine. 9v would be okay as well, but the higher the voltage above what the LEDs need the higher the wattage rating you may need for your resistors because they will generate more heat.

Forward current is how much current you want to put through the LEDs. This defines how bright they are. You can safely enter a value up to 20mA here.

And for number of LEDs in the array just enter 36.

Now click wiring diagram, and click “design my array” and the wizard will spit out a drawing showing you how to wire the LEDs to your switch and battery.