How many of you trust auto-routing facilities in PCB CAD software?

Because I'm a relative noob I tend to just hit auto-route in Eagle and hope for the best ... but often I find myself in the situation where something that works on breadboard just falls over with an auto-routed board.

How could it get it wrong though? Surely it's just following one's schematic?

This was just recently discussed here:

There are some things on a PCB that are critical and must be routed carefully (clock traces, decoupling capacitors for example) while others don't matter much and can be autorouted.

--
The Ruggeduino: compatible with Arduino UNO, 24V operation, all I/O's fused and protected

It's not a matter of trusting the autorouter not to be "correct", but....

• I don't trust the autorouter to understand things that I haven't told it, such as which signals have higher currents, and which are more critical to have short traces, and which traces it would be nice to have some ground plane in-between. (Some of this you can tell it via "class", some not.)
  • I don't trust it to create "conservative" routes. For example, it will "hug" traces as close to other traces/pins/etc as the design rules and routing grid allow, whereas I would put traces as far apart from everything as possible.
  • It doesn't know how to temporarily narrow traces for power when the trace should be thick otherwise.
  • It doesn't know about curves (?) or bends other than 45 degrees. Sometimes this is OK, sometimes very limiting.
  • I don't trust it to warn me if some signal ends up traveling all over the board
  • I don't trust it to produce a particularly "optimal" design.
  • I don't trust it to finish designs that are possible but difficult.
  • I don't expect it to give me any advice like "gee, it would work better if THIS chip was over THERE."
  • I don't trust it to produce an esthetically pleasing design.