How reliable is Arduino in a commercial setting?

I'm the owner and builder of a large model railroad exhibit, the Choo Choo Barn, in Strasburg, PA and am looking in to using Arduino as a way of making some very intricate and involved animated scenes. I currently am using a lot of limit switches, timers and relays to make animations work. See my latest video here: The (completed!) Roll Back Tow Truck Animation at the Choo Choo Barn - YouTube It's an operating roll-back truck. The display is O-gauge, 1/4" scale.

The display operates 7-8 hours a day, seven days a week for 9+ months a year (the other months are spent cleaning and making new stuff). I have a lot of great ideas and am working on one right now for next year that will use motors and servos to animate a drag strip scene. My biggest fear is that Arduino is not "beefy" enough to handle this sort of thing. I would suspect that the scene will repeat itself every 5-10 minutes. I'm a newbie to this whole programmable chip thing and I have to learn a lot for this project to work but if and when it does, it will open a whole new world of really cool animations in the future. Did I mention that I also want to incorporate drag strip sounds like squealing tires?

So, is Arduino the way to go? Will it easily operate 4-6 servos and 3 DC motors, all at the same time, over and over again and again, all day long without any glitches? All of my present animations run without fail, some have been on the display for 50 years.

I thank you all for any help or wisdom you can give me.

This was discussed on another Topic recently. Google should help you find it.

As long as you stay within its limits the Arduino should be perfectly reliable.

If you are really concerned you could design your project so it only takes a minute to switch to another Arduino with the same program already loaded.