How the heck does this work (the Crudest possible way of switching a relay with ESP 01s works!)

Hi, so I searched through the categories and didn't find anything related to the ESP01s module. So I'm posting it here. (treating as if it's a general electronic component. I guess that's not entirely inaccurate. :grinning:)

Few Words Summary

Here's the "schematic" and summary if you can't understand. I guess in the Arduino forum when you ask in few words, you're asked to explain, and when you explain, you're asked a summary right? So here's both.

I should fry the ESP 01s and waste money right? There are 101 better ways to do this right? None works for me, and this works perfectly. I want to know why. If you like, read the long version below. :+1: :+1: :+1:

I'm a total novice into MCU programming, so after ordering a UNO board, few additional components, I looked up a few tutorials, and got to work on a small project. Since this is one of my very first, there's nothing fancy. Just using a ESP-01s module to switch a relay module on off.

As far as the code goes, it's simple enough. Just using the Blynk app and its library to generate a GPIO PWM through WiFi, and running a relay module from there. Extremely simple and just works. This actually doesn't use the UNO, and the ESP 01s runs all by itself. It has only 8 pins and says it runs on 3.3V.

I got everything working, but not the power supply issue. After using a UART USB TTL with 3.3V to upload the code and it started running, I removed all the extra jumpers and plugged it into a powerbank, and checked if just providing 3.3V and GND to the ESP 01s works. This is because it was the easiest way for me to get 3.3V. ESP 01s works, the GPIO2 pin puts out a PWM when I press the button on the Blynk app.

Getting that PWM to run a relay was the biggest hassle I faced. I have the really basic 2 channel 5V relay module, and since it runs on a different voltage, I tried racking my brain how to provide the power.