How to "activate" the board with external power help?

Hi, I'm kind of new to Arduino boards, and I want to "activate"(for lack of a better word) the board when power is supplied. This may sound confusing, but essentially, I want to somehow connect the board to my doorbell, so that when the doorbell is pushed, power goes to the board, and runs the sketch I have uploaded. Is there anyway I could do this? I don't mind leaving the board on, but I want the sketch only to run when the doorbell is pushed, and then to stop after it has been run. Is there any way this can be done?

Thanks in advance.

well you could leave it on all the time and wait for a trigger (the doorbell) thats a simple matter of software and some basic hardware to convert the doorbell voltages (what 12-24 vac?) to arduino happy signals.

a more economical approach is to put the arduino to sleep while it sits there doing nothing, dropping current draw from tens of millamps to microamps for the majority of the time, but its not exactly a direct function of the arduino library so you will have to get into some more advanced programming (though there are plenty of examples around)

either way the arduino consumes such little power by itself it shouldnt be a big deal, but going from 0.0x amps to 0.00x amps for something that will mostly sit there doing nothing does have its advantages as well.

which sounds better?

Osgeld: well you could leave it on all the time and wait for a trigger (the doorbell) thats a simple matter of software and some basic hardware to convert the doorbell voltages (what 12-24 vac?) to arduino happy signals.

What kind of hardware would I need, and where would I wire the doorbell wire to on the Arduino? Thanks

that kind of depends on what your doorbell is using quick google seems to suggest anything from 6 volts to 24 volts ac and dc