How to add timing to servo motor?

Hi Everyone!
I am very new to all of this and am trying to accomplish a small project for school. I’ve been reading forums, articles, and watching hours of Youtube and learning all that I can to make my project work, to no avail. Hoping someone can help!

My goal: Using the Arduino Leonardo with a Radioshack Standard Servo Motor connected to window blinds I want to open and close the blind flaps (not pull up and down, merely open and close flaps) at what appears to be different intervals in time.

Everything is hooked up and working fine for the standard Servo Sweep code that comes in the Arduino Library. The flaps open and close wonderfully, but I cannot figure out how to stop them from opening and closing, or to delay them so it appears more random. I do not want a continuous open/close, open/close…

I have tried changing the delay and it continues to run in the same pace.
I have tried the standard Servo Sweep and also the code below.
Thanks in advance! If I am trying to do something that just isn’t plausible, please let me know. Ignorance is not bliss, but hundreds of hours of futile attempts. :stuck_out_tongue:

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;
void setup()
{
myservo.attach (9);
}
void loop()
{
myservo.writeMicroseconds (1000);
delay (500);
myservo.writeMicroseconds (1000);
delay (500);
myservo.writeMicroseconds (3000);
delay (300);
}

Welcome....

Couple of things:

• Are those delays of 300 and 500ms long enough for the open or close to complete? Once the servo.write command has been issued, the delay() will kick in, but the servo might still physically be moving. Nett effect might be that it seems like no delay took place before the next servo.write
  • Why do you have 2 consecutive servo writes of 1000?

You can use the RANDOM(min,max) function for the delay(). Make sure that the "min" value will be enough for the servo to complete his move.