How to advance to next integer after button push

I'll start off by saying I'm not very good at coding but I am trying my best.

I'm working on a bench top power supply and I want to use rotary encoders to set voltage and current limits. I think I have a good grasp on the general code I need to write, but where I'm drawing a blank is, I want to be able to set the voltage integers as 4 values (10s digit, 1s digit, tenths digit, and hundredths digit)... so for example, if i want to set 12.00V, I want to turn the rotary encoder to set the first int to 1, press the encoder switch, automatically advance to the next int and turn the rotary encoder to set the next value and so on... So pushing the encoder switch would cycle through the 4 digits to change them. I want to do the same thing for current limit.

Hopefully this makes sense and I appreciate any help I can get, but try to speak my language, which is not a experienced programmer.

Thanks!

That's not that hard... That's one of the simpler parts of the supply...

First understand the difference between a pushed button and a button becoming pushed. That's called state change detection (Google it :wink: ). But you can make life easy and handle button debounce as well by grabbing a library for that like Bounce2 :slight_smile: No need to reinvent the wheel.

Next, you just need a variable to hold at which digit you are. And simply increment that every time the buttons BECOMES pressed

With Bounce2 that will look like

byte cursorLocation;

rotaryButton.update();
if(rotaryButton.fell()){
  cursorLocation++;
  if(cursorLocation >= 4){
    cursorLocation = 0;
  }
}

Thank you very much, that makes sense and I actually already have Bounce2 incorporated in my sketch which should help.

My next question is, I'm really getting lost on how to combine all the things I want to do.