How to allocate one buffer for all formatted SQL queries?

Hi,

I’m new to Arduino and C# but have started to play around with the MySQL Connector Arduino Library (by Dr. Charles A. Bell). It’s quite fun and interesting, but I have a question that properly is rather basic. Here it goes:

In one of the code examples Dr. Charles A Bell writes in the comments that sprintf uses twice the memory and an alternative option is “to allocate one buffer for all formatted queries or allocate memory and free it when you’re done”.

This might be a very basic question, but I hope that someone would be kind to explain how to do this? Or point me in a direction with some examples.

Here is a link to Bell’s full example otherwise here is the specific comment:

Serial.println("> Running SELECT with dynamically supplied parameter");

// Initiate the query class instance
  MySQL_Cursor *cur_mem = new MySQL_Cursor(&conn);
  // Supply the parameter for the query
  // Here we use the QUERY_POP as the format string and query as the
  // destination. This uses twice the memory so another option would be
  // to allocate one buffer for all formatted queries or allocate the
  // memory as needed (just make sure you allocate enough memory and
  // free it when you're done!).
  sprintf(query, QUERY_POP, 9000000);
  // Execute the query
  cur_mem->execute(query);

runevn:
Hi,

I'm new to Arduino and C# but have started to play around with the MySQL Connector Arduino Library (by Dr. Charles A. Bell). It's quite fun and interesting, but I have a question that properly is rather basic. Here it goes:

In one of the code examples Dr. Charles A Bell writes in the comments that sprintf uses twice the memory and an alternative option is "to allocate one buffer for all formatted queries or allocate memory and free it when you're done".

This might be a very basic question, but I hope that someone would be kind to explain how to do this? Or point me in a direction with some examples.