how to amplify the out put of resistance based moisture sensor

Namasthe
i am very new to the field of arduino and electronics aswell
As part of my project i came across the idea to make a soil moisture sensor with the help of just two electrodes 1 inch apart(permanent fixation with the help of epoxy) each on each poles of a speaker wire.
as per the tutorial they advised to fix a 10kohm resistor at the output end. i dipped it in water but was not getting any reading on my serial monitor unless i closed the loop with a highly conductive material between the electrodes(solder lead). then i removed the resistor and connected an LED instead of my arduino to see whether there is some light produced while i dunk it into water. A very feeble light is produced on the led while i dunk it in water. i wanted to know how i can amplify this output so that i can use it as an analog signal without destroying my arduino.
any help will be appreciated

fix a 10kohm resistor at the output end.

Not sure what that means.

A schematic of your connections and/or a clear photo of the wiring and the code that you tried would help us to help you.

The commonly advertised "moisture sensors" are generally just 24 hour "toys".

Those advertised as "capacitive" with a durable insulating coating are probably usable. :grinning:

I have a page describing that exact measurement

http://www.skillbank.co.uk/arduino/moisture.htm

I dipped it in water but was not getting any reading on my serial monitor

Probably because clean water is not very conductive. Water mixed with soil will have lots of salts dissolved in it from the soil making it more conductive.

this is the schematics

How to post an image

(I know, it's a pain!)
Now please read:
General guidance and
How to use this forum
Then post your code as per the instructions.