how to attach and drive servos with arrays..?

I’ve got zero programming/Arduino experience, but I’ve been doing a fair bit of reading around them recently…

My ultimate goal’s to build a small hexapod using my Arduino Mega 2560 (r2, I think?), but I’m starting small and trying to make 4-leg, 2DOF per leg walking thing to figure out how to do some of what I may need…

I’ve got the thing skuttling around the floor, driven by single characters sent from a BT terminal app on my (android) Desire Z.

It’s currently simply running through a list of servo movements for forwards, back, left and right, like this:

void Walk(){
  LegServo5.write(90);                
  LegServo6.write(90);                
  delay(Delay);
  LegServo4.write(0);                
  LegServo7.write(0);                
  delay(Delay);
  LegServo0.write(45);                
  LegServo1.write(0);                
  LegServo2.write(135);                               
  LegServo3.write(180);                  
  delay(Delay);

but I like the idea of both attaching and driving the servos from arrays. I think this could let me include the number of legs and servos and have my code work out what servos go where from there… (so I change a couple of numbers to go from my 4-leg/8servo to a 6-leg/18 servo when the servos turn up!).

This is how I’ve been trying to attach them:

const int NoLegServos = 8;                 // number of servos in legs
int LegServoPins[NoLegServos] =    // Servo pins, starting at servo0
{43,42,12,49,44,45,53,8};

void setup():
  for (int thisServo = 0; thisServo < NoLegServos; thisServo++) {
  LegServo(thisServo).attach(LegServoPins[thisServo]);
  delay(Delay);
}

I’m trying to end up with the loop running
LegServo0.attach(43)
LegServo1.attach(42)
etc …

but I’m doing something wrong, it wont compile giving:
Sketch.cpp: In function ‘void setup()’:
Sketch:77: error: ‘LegServo’ was not declared in this scope