How to Begin 3D Landscape Measure/Mapping Project

I am new to Arduino, but it seems like a good place for my imagination. My parents own a farm with a very large yard with many buildings, trees, fences, ditches/waterways. I have experience with Google Sketchup 8 and I want to create a model encompassing all the terrain and buildings in the yard. The yard itself is roughly 400ft by 800 feet. Accuracy is probably only important to about and inch or two.

I have a few different ideas and I can't find anything that seems like it is ment for this besides extremly expensive 3D laser scanners for engineering purpose. The simple 3D scanners using two cameras do not have the range but the "point map" created seems like the right direction for my project. ??Is there a simple way to import one of these point maps into Google Sketchup free version??

First Idea: Altimeter watch and laser tape measure. Upon reading numerous reviews most handheld altimeters will not show small changes in altitude. I need accuracy to the inch and these are roughly accurate to +/- 10ft. The laser tape measures on Ebay can give me referance measurements so I can track my location between buildings and then I can set a grid and if Ardiuno altimeters are accurate enough I can enter all the data by hand and plot all the points. I also may be able to do this with a transit level but then i need two people. ?? How accurate are the barometric altimiters?? Could I accuretly move it only a few inches and be able to record the readings??