how to build 24(12*2)led array

Hi, I am new to arduino and I have got arduino uno now. I connect it to the mac by usb cable. But when I want to remove it from Mac, I can't find any buttons on mac to remove it. Is it ok to pull it off my mac immediately or what should I do?

By the way, I just have a project to need arduino. I want to know what is the max current for the GND? I now each pin is 40mA. But what is GND? I want to connect 24 led (max: forward current 20mA, forward voltage 3.2v), I want to parallel each two together to make it (2.5V(if supplied by usb, it's 5V total I think), ). So I will need 12 pin, I think it's enough. But I have to use 12 GND at the same time. So I want to know whether it's ok to connect all the 12 pair led to the same GND? Because the board doesn't have enough GND to use.

Thanks

Hi, fanlovefriends

Make sure that no communication is active (serial monitor or upload function) with the arduino board and Just pull the usb plug out. Safety remove hardware only stops data communication and not the power on arduino. The device removal option also is missing on windows unless a 3rd party software is installed (ex USB safety remove).

As for the 24 led project I don't think that artuino can drive them all. You have to use something like a ULN8023 chip. Usually those projects require a prototyping “breadboard” to make all the connections and experiment.

I want to know what is the max current for the GND?

It is 200mA of current going through the ground of the Arduino processor. That is only an issue if you are sourcing current.
If it is not going through the processor then don't worry about it.

I now each pin is 40mA.

What you know is wrong, 40mA is the point where damage starts to occur, run pins at less than that say 30 or 20mA.

However there is also a limit on the current an arduino can source through the pins, that is 200mA, so depending on how you are wiring them up ( current sourcing or sinking ) you are way over the top of 200mA