How to calculate angle without moving the sensor?

Hello, I'm new to arduino (some experience with butterfly AVR)

I have searched for quite a while but I couldn't find out how to calculate the angle the sensor is in without moving the senor itself.

To clarify, If the starting position of the sensor is tilted, then I want it to correct itself so it's flat along the ground.

I would be grateful with any help.

Check this out.

Also, what is your "sensor"? Do you have any code? I hope it is a type of accelerometer and gyroscope.

Power_Broker: Check this out.

Also, what is your "sensor"? Do you have any code? I hope it is a type of accelerometer and gyroscope.

I have a Arduino 9 AXES MOTION SHIELD, Currently I have no code. I want to know what I'm going to do before I code.

In the link you provided it says "gyroscope reading for short time durations and the accelerometer average reading for longtime durations" with that they mean reading during movement right? Then that isn't what I want.

Imagine that the sensor is started while placed on an open drawbridge, I want it to calculate that it's currently in a steep angle, without the need for the bridge to move up or down. So it works like a spirit level.

Is this impossible?

fandig2: In the link you provided it says "gyroscope reading for short time durations and the accelerometer average reading for longtime durations" with that they mean reading during movement right? Then that isn't what I want.

No, it is EXACTLY what you want.

You seem to misunderstand how an IMU (Inertial Measurement Unit), such as your motion shied, works.