How To calculate resistor value

Hi all,

I have small problem, i’m no electronics engineer and i want to calculate (if needed, I don’t realy know)
a resistor value for a schematic.

I received a schematic for a circuit containing some photocells that work on 12volt, they are NPN Normaly Open photocells, i have photocells that are 5volts.

Both type of photocells give a low signal (0 volt) when the beam is broken and a high (aprox 5volt) when there is no obstruction in front of the beams.

in the schematic (see below) i received, my friend uses a BC557 PNP transistor and a few resistors to:

1. change the signal from LOW to HIGH if the beam is broken
  2. go from a 12v signal to a 5v signal when the beam is obstructed by anything

my question is :
how can I adapt the circuit so it works with my configuration of 5volt NPN NO photocells.

I see a 2k2 resistor, a 1k and a 4k7 resistor on his circuit.

can someone explain what these resistors do (i thought they are some kind of voltage devider, to go from 12v to 5v, but i’m not sure of that)

I also see a resistor going from the 5volt feed to the 2k2 resistor, and then one 4k7 resistor from one of the pins of the BC557 to the GND connection, and a wire to go to the PIN of the arduino

I’m eager to learn some new stuff on electronics, so i would greatly appreciate some tips & tricks or even some schematic of how to deal with this issue

another question is, how can i recognize the appropriate pins on this type of transistor? E B C?

Grtz,
YvesD

Please post a link to the product page or data sheet for your "photocells" (there are many types).

You should not need anything other than a single resistor to use a "photocell" with an Arduino.

Hi jremington,

this is the product number, they're from iBest.China.com
my version is specially made to give (and work on 5 volts) - it's a 3 wire type, that gives a 0volts on activation (LOW)