How to calculate what type of batteries to use and how many? (Please help)

Hello i currently have an arduino project that im not sure if im powering it properly and want to know how. Im new to the arduino eletronically wise and id appreciate any help.

I currently have an: Arduino mega, attached to speeed seed motor shield http://www.seeedstudio.com/wiki/Motor_Shield_V2.0 with 4 DC motors, 2 mini servos that dont work full time, an ultraSonic sensor that doesnt work full time either, and a pixy cam connected to the ISCP that draws 5V http://cmucam.org/projects/cmucam5/wiki/Powering_Pixy

I understand its a quite full project and would really appreciate any help.

Thanks, Andrew

AndrewKaram: 2 mini servos that dont work full time, an ultraSonic sensor that doesnt work full time either,

Well, there's the problem.... A vital part of the exercise is time, and you can't get much help with non-information like that.

There are two types of time yo need to consider. 1. Duty cycle. The ultrasonic may be something you can skip but the servo is probably a major player. You may also induce sleep periods for whole project. 2. Battery cycle. How long do you want it to run, hours? months?

The next part of the exercise is current draw.

and a pixy cam connected to the ISCP that draws 5V

No it doesn't, it runs on 5v, like most of your other gear, and draws an amount of current that is (currently) a secret.

I used a combination of 1 or 2 9v batteries as well as 8 double A batteries. They are high-speed low torque motors 200mA, 165 RPM. I know its a lot to power looking for the most convenient way.

A consistent power total of an hour max, it will be on and off throughout the hour though.

AndrewKaram:
1 or 2 9v

If they are PP3s you should put them back in the smoke detectors where they belong. They are the kiss of death for practically anything to do with Arduino. Batteries are required to deliver power, PP3s don’t have any.

AndrewKaram: