How to change ADC bit?

Hi!

I'm studying genuino 101

Now I need to use the 12bit ADC, write settings on the file AIN11-14

·5 analog inputs AIN_11 – AIN_14, 11 other possible analog inputs using alternate functions listed below: ADC Resolution set via ADC_RES [1: 0] register; lower bit resolution can be sampled faster then the 12 bit maximum. -11 = 12 bits -10 = 10bit -01 = 8 bits

-00 = 6 bit. Lower number of bits can be sampled quicker in less clock cycle than 12 bit max number of bits

I check datasheet corresponds to the board on the A1-A3(AIN11-13) and SDA(AIN14)

But how do I set up to change 11 into 12bit

I see the official website of this information Speaking of this method

AnalogReadResolution (12);

But how can I verify that the 12bit ADC

breezemark,

I was interested in the answer to this so I did a quick trial. I may want to use something other than the default 10 bit resolution of the Arduino 101 A/D in the future.

I hope this was not a homework assignment of some kind… The method I used to test the analogReadResolution() function on my 101 was to just do it brute force. I set up a Sketch to repeatedly read a pin at different resolutions to see what I get. According to the Reference Link, if you choose a resolution greater than what the hardware supports, low order bits are simply padded with zeros.

That is exactly what I found. Results of 8, 10, and 12 bit resolution tests returned data that always differed a little in the lowest order bits. At 14 bit resolution, the two low order bits were always zeros. At 16 bit resolution, the four low order bits were always zero.

I ran the test measuring a floating pin. As such, I expected some variation from run to run and did see that but the behavior of the low order bits and the normalized results were pretty consistent on my board.

Here is the test code Sketch I threw together.

/*
 * Test of the analogReadResolution() function for the Arduino 101.