How to Choose a Board

Hello!
I am brand new to the Arduino community and in need of some guidance. I work for a company that rebuilds/recycles Switch-gear and MCC equipment, so I have some electrical knowledge. And I took some engineering classes in high-school that worked with VEX robotics and and various milling machines, so I have some experience with writing code.
Having said that, I consider myself a baby in this, and assume I know nothing. But I love learning and expanding my capabilities!

My first project is essentially a fog machine/humidifier. I have 4 ultrasonic atomizers that came with PCBs (found at the link below)

I want to be able to press a button (analog to start with but possibly digital on a raspberry pi with a touchscreen display later on) that will start a sequence to toggle the atomizers on and off for a period of time.
Again I am a baby in this, and assume I know nothing. I would greatly appreciate any information on how to assess my needs as far as board capabilities so I can choose a board for this project as well as future projects! And if anyone would be able to help me understand whats going on in the PCB and help me determine if that is a necessary component or if I would be able to bypass that and connect the atomizer directly to the arduino?

It seems as if the atomiser is designed to be switched on or off by hand. You may be able to replace the onboard switch (or operate in parallel with it) using a transistor or relay operated by an Arduino.

Assuming you just want to control 4 of those things then any Arduino board will be more than adequate.

The Uno is a good starter board because most programs and add-ons will work with it. The nano is a smaller version of the Uno.

For the programming have a look at how the LEDs are operated in the demo Several Things at a Time

...R

I want to be able to press a button (analog to start with but possibly digital... assume I know nothing.