How to communicate wirelessly 20+ sites to remote Laptop

Hi All

I am VERY new to electronics (finance background … so all foreign to me), but have a problem I need help with.

I need 20 different items that need to be measured and data sent wirelessly to remote laptop.

One company I spoke to offered me a $3500 “sensor” per unit to do the job, so the conversation ended very quickly.

I bought (w/end just past) an arduino board, an ultrasonic sensor and breadboard and now (for <$40) have it measuring onto my laptop.

Next issue is to get 20 of them (as proto-type) to locate in field and communicate wirelessly to laptop. If successful, the qty will go to 1000 immediatley. I would like to avoid a sim card in each.

can someone please assist me to take step #2
(appologies for length of above … my first ever “blog”)

thanks
D :o

How far apart are these sensors? Since you mention SIM cards, I assume it's a substantial distance?

Hi wb

the distance varies ... they can be as close as 2m or upto 200m. The land is undulating and trees / motor vehicles / properties can block line of sight

In my naivety, I won't my Ardunio to run the sensor tests, the light tests, then once a day transmit the data (assuming that is the cheapest way to communicate the data - as opposed to live feed).

It will also need (via CRM) 2 way communication so if an issue is flagged, you can "refresh" and check it wasn't a false read. This is a nice to have option (if not too pricey)

thanks

It sounds like a job for radios - 200m would be a bit much for the cheap 434MHz examples and you might struggle to manage 1000 of them all trying to send at the same time. An XBee mesh network would do it, though they're not inexpensive. Compared to $3500 apiece though, they're a phenomenal bargain.

The below might be of interest.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7BYdZ_24yg0

I'd suggest the hope RF packet radios such as the RFM69HW one from Anarduino