How to connect multiple peripheries on arduino

Hi all,

I need help and suggestions how to solve the problem and how to design my project. I got task for school to make little smart house project with Arduino board.

Requirements that project needs to fulfill are:

• Project need to has display so user can read status of the system

• Need to uses at least 3 thermometers DS18B20 and measure the temperatures of rooms

• Should has communication with network and data should be sent to web server and establish controlling of arduino over network

• Has 4 relays to control lights, air condition, heater

I am very new to this and I don't have much experience so I need a little help to complete this task, learn how to make this and get my diploma.

What confuses me is that I have arduino nano with only 13 digital pins and multiple devices which require multiple pins. Can you help me to overcome this problem?

Also I have got Ethernet module HR911105A, 16x2 LCD display and MicroSD card module. Also, I have 4 relays, 3 DS18B18 thermometers.

Please help me with wiring and coding.

Regards,
Lazar :astonished:

First off, you need to organize the parts. create a simple hand sketch schematic and lay out what pins you need to use for specific things like your I2C connections.

your NANO has 13 DIGITAL pins, and 8 ANALOGUE pins. analogue 4 and 5 are reserved for your I2C serial line.
analogue pins can be used as digital, or one pin can 'see' multiple switches to save a digital pin.

get a serial connector for your LCD to use on I2c. now it is 2 wire.

your Ethernet module uses SPI, so there are 4 digital pins. the SD uses spi, so add 1 more for that card on the SPI bus.

the temp sensors are 1-wire devices. (4 pins)

you can use a shift register for 8 outputs, then connect your relays on that. if you use a shift register, that can go on the I2C bus. no additional pins or the SPI bus for 1 additional pin.