How To Control Do...While structures.

Hello,

I am trying to count the number of times two individual switches are pressed. There is a button1 and a button2. I would like to keep track of how many times each button was pushed and report this to the serial monitor.

I have two ‘do…while’ loops that should run a debounce function whenever an individual switch goes LOW, but it seems to run both do keywords whenever either button is pushed. I’m pretty new to arduino. Let me know if you need any other information. I left all of my debugging Serial.print() in the code // commented out. The code is attached.

All the best. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Kyle H

/*
  Original debounce example from Adafruit, modified to count button presses
  from two individial tactile switches. 

This example code is in the public domain.

http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Debounce
*/

const int button1Pin = 2;     // button pin 2
const int button2Pin = 3;     // button pin 3

int buttonState = HIGH;       // the current reading from the input pin
int lastButtonState = HIGH;   // the previous reading from the input pin

// the following variables are unsigned longs because the time, measured in
// milliseconds, will quickly become a bigger number than can be stored in an int.

unsigned long lastDebounceTime = 0;  // the last time a output pin was toggled
unsigned long debounceDelay = 50;    // the debounce time; increase if the output flickers

void setup() {
  pinMode(button1Pin, INPUT);
  pinMode(button2Pin, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(button1Pin, HIGH);
  digitalWrite(button2Pin, HIGH);

Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  // static int button1Clicked = 0;
  // static int button2Clicked = 0;
  static int lastButton1Clicked = 0;
  static int lastButton2Clicked = 0;
  //Serial.println(digitalRead(button1Pin));
  //Serial.println(digitalRead(button2Pin));

do {
  int button1Clicked = debounce(button1Pin);
    // Serial.println("step one running");