How to control mechanical lever using arduino?

Hi all,

First of all, i'm new to arduino. For my major project for automating a car, I need to impliment a few features to be read and write to the car via arduino. Leave the rest,

Main thing 1. I need to initiate the car break when an obstacle is detected infront of the car

Updates: 1.I bought Ultrasonic sensors and coded to detect the distance of obstruction infront of it

What i want to know: How can i mechanically engage the break using an output from arduino? Actuators?pneumatic sensors? i dont know what hardware to use to convert digital signal to engage a mechanical system

First, please tell me this is an RC type car and not a 2 ton vehicle in the driveway…

I suspect you mean "brake" - and that worries me greatly.

...R

Damn - Robin2, you beat me to it...

I need to initiate the car break when an obstacle is detected in front of the car

I was going to say 'Do nothing" - on every level of meaning.

This is a scary scenario... I hope it is for a toy RC car!

sravansunilt: \

What i want to know: How can i mechanically engage the break using an output from arduino? Actuators?pneumatic sensors? i dont know what hardware to use to convert digital signal to engage a mechanical system

Those will all work. Get one of each. Good luck.

tinman13kup: First, please tell me this is an RC type car and not a 2 ton vehicle in the driveway......

Unfortunately , It is a 2 ton vehicle. Crash Mitigation system or applying the brakes when a collission is detected. I have already at the end stage of the mechanical system that i will hook with the brake pedal in a chevy aveo. What the current scenario is regarding what will be acting as a mediator to connect the system to engage. Simply what mechanical system will engage the lever when a digital/analogue from arduino is generated?

Robin2: I suspect you mean "brake" - and that worries me greatly.

...R