How to design a 'modular' product that can be used in various applications

Hello,

I am a beginner level embedded system engineer in a small company.

My current product is to develop a controller (using ARM MCU) for our company's products (MEMS scanning mirror or micromirror).

The development will be done by outsourcing and I should give design specifications to the development company.

But I don't know what specifications are needed for the actuator controller development.

Main directions of making the controller for the actuator are, 1. Open-loop control of the actuator (MEMS scanning mirror), 2. 'Modular' design thereby being used for various applications.

First goal is straightforward so I can deal with it.

However, I don't know what should I need for the second goal.

What interface is needed for a 'modular' product to be integrated or synchronized with other system? Is it generating trigger signals?

Would you please tell me a standard and common design technique for the controller to communicate with other system? Is it using UART serial communication? Sync? Trigger?

Would you please tell me a standard and common design technique for the controller to communicate with other system?

I think you should first try to limit your variables. What are these other systems that you need to communicate with? Different systems use different set of signals and protocols to communicate. Unless you are able to come up with a list of specific systems that you need to interface to, I cant think of any way to design something that will fit in every single possible situation.

I've seen a few designs made for "future expansion" and when the future requirements come, the prediction was usually wrong and the design needs to be modified.