How to detect radar waves (x band)

Hi guys,

I am working on a project that requires radar wave detection. I have a source that emits with a wavelength of 31 mm and a frequency of 9.6 GHz. I am not only interested in detection but also in signal strength.
Is there a module that allows me detect these kind of radio waves (x band), or can I (easily) make one?

I found the Parallar x-band motion detector, but this works on 10.5 GHz, so I am not sure it will pick up my 9.6 source.

I am just getting started with radar, so any information is greatly appriciated.
Thanks for your help in advance!!

How sensitive does the receiver need to be ?

ie how much power are you transmitting power and what range do you need to detect, is the beam focussed etc

Thanks for your reply.

I didn't mention this initially because it sound kinda crazy, but I want to detect satellite radar signals, terrasar-x to be more specific. I am using this satellite for research and I want to know exactly when it passes over (and some other stuff).

So the distance to the transmitter is around 500km, but I expect the signal will be quite strong, because the return signal is measurable, so the signal is generally able to travel 500km back. The beam is highly focussed and has a size of 25x25 cm, at my measurement point.

Do you think this signal is easily detectable?

With the right equipment yes. As you pointed out, radar detectors have a much easier time of it than the radars themselves.

You can arrange for the satellite to shoot at your location?
So you work for the operator of the sat?
Don't you guys already have some fancy equipment that does what you want?

They are expensive.

Given that you are picking up a transmitted radar pulse there will be plenty of power.

You can build one yourself with a mixer diode and a bit of waveguide.

Be aware its a metal bashing job not a circuit board and solder.

Google on solfan module .

Here is another possibility