How to - DS1307 used to countdown and trigger alarms?

I am trying to build a simple device using the Arduino Uno where the user sets two delays, say 30 mins and 130 mins - normal and extended mode, when a limit switch is closed the device will start counting down (30 mins or 130 based on what mode is selected by the user), at the end of the countdown something will triggered (alarm, etc).
Only one countdown will be active at any given time, a switch from one mode to the other will reset the countdown.

What do you recommend I do? I have very little programming experience so please keep that in mind when you answer.
It is the countdown part that I can't wrap my head around, the limit switch and getting the DS1307 to work is not a problem.
I've managed to get a DS1307 to work with my Uno using various examples I found on the net.
I would like to use the DS1307 for this to get the current time when the limit switch is closed but if you think I should use millis I'm open to suggestion.

Also, am I looking at this the wrong way, should I do a count up?
If using the DS1307, would the countdown (count up) be affected when the clock rolls over at midnight?

Precision is not extremely important, a few seconds +/- per countdown is not a big deal. The countdown intervals will be minutes only (no seconds).
If you can provide examples or links that would be great.

Thanks

D.

As you are talking relative time you don't need a DS1307 . It can be done by the millis() function

You need something like this (not tested, is not a complete prog but it should give you a start)

void loop()
{

if (millis() >= endtime)
  {
    // do you alarmthing
  }

if (digitalRead(switchPin) == HIGH)
  {
    endtime = millis() + 130 * 60 * 1000L;  // current time + 130 minutes
  }
}

When you start debugging better use 10 and 20 seconds iso 30 and 130 minutes or you will drink a lot of coffee :slight_smile: