How to duplicate each characters in an input array

Hello,I need help with my assignment. I’m just a beginner in Arduino coding.
I have problem with my coding which is duplicating each character of an input array.
For example:
Input : Good morning
Output: GGoooodd mmoorrnniinngg

Can someone please correct me if I’m wrong and show me the correct way :slight_smile:
and also does anybody knows how to use strtok function correctly?
this is my code

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(115200);
delay(20);

}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
int i;
char s[100];
char *b = s;
int j;
int limite;
int n;

while(Serial.available()){
s[i++]=Serial.read();
delay(1);
}
s*=0;*

• if(i>0){*

• }*

• b = strtok(s,":");*

• Serial.print(s);{*

• }*

• for(int j=0; j<limite;j++){*
    b[j] += s + s*;*
    * Serial.print(b); *

* }*
}
sketch_jun20a.ino (489 Bytes)

What does it do, or not do?

In serial monitor, when you give an input( exp: Hello), then it will print out its output of (HHeelloo) but I couldn't figure out the function for the duplication . This is not apply to int or float.

This should produce the effect you want:

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);
}

void loop()
{
  if (Serial.available())
  {
    char c = Serial.read();
    Serial.write(c);
    Serial.write(c);
  }
}

dave_croft: In serial monitor, when you give an input( exp: Hello), then it will print out its output of (HHeelloo) but I couldn't figure out the function for the duplication . This is not apply to int or float.

I'm not asking what the assignment says it should do, I'm asking what your program actually does when you run it. Is it a requirement of the assignment that you finish typing a line before it feeds the characters back?

Yes exactly

Can you then, please answer my question?