How to enable for loop with digital input

I am new to programming and want to use a digital input to activate a sweep routine for a servo using an Arduino UNO. When the input goes high the routine should start. Conversely, when the input goes low, the routine should stop. Is a for loop the best way to approach this or would something else like a while loop or if statements work better? Thanks.

I’d go with if statements, definitely.

Have you tried the Servo examples offered in the IDE?

You can find them in the File / Examples menu.

Also have a peek at File / Examples / 05.Control / IfStatementConditional.

What is it that your “a sweep routine” is meant to do?

a7

Depends what this sweep is used for. If it is for learning the programming language, than you should follow the advice of alto777.
If you need that sweep for your project, and want an easy way to do that, then use a library like MobaTools, that can move your servo slowly.

Thanks alto. I have taken a look at the examples for the sweep routine in the IDE and was trying to get something working utilizing that. Unfortunately, it’s not working out so well which is why I started this chat. I am looking at starting the routine with a digital input and then having the servo go from one position to another continuously until the input is removed. For example going from 45 to 90 degrees back and forth. Thanks.

Thanks MicroBhaner. I appreciate the link to MobaTools also, I’ll check that out.

Since I am currently writing some examples for the next MobaTools version here is one with a sweeping servo.

#include <MobaTools.h>
/* Demo to move a servo slowly
   In this example a servo sweeps slowly between two positions as long as
   a button is pressed. If the button is released, it stops immediately and
   starts again from that position if the button is pressed again.
   The sketch does not block and can be extended to do other tasks.
*/

// The button must be connected between pin and Gnd