How to find peaks & eliminate flat tops

I am very stuck here, I am using a pulse sensor and I need to find all peak points of the heartbeat. I am saving 256 points of data of the heartbeat to an array. I can find the top max point but I need to also find the 2nd, 3rd, 4th… max point if present… at times the max repeats to where the data in the array looks like [345,380,420,455,455,455,455,455,365,397,385,399] It’s very obvious 455 is the local max but its also a flat top and it prints the result as many times as 455 shows up. I just need it to show it once, along with its index in the array. I will post my code, I hope to get some feedback, as basic as possible please I am still learning code.

int inp[256];

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);  // for debugging  
}
void loop()
{
    float dt = 0.01;
    int ind1[100], mult[10];
    float x[256], val1[100], val2[10], ind2[10];
    val1[0] = -1.2;
    int i;

for (i = 0 ; i < 256 ; i ++) // save 256 samples
    {     
      inp[i] = analogRead(A0);
      //Serial.println((String)inp[i]+" index at - "+i);
      delay(10);
    } // close for

int max_i = 0;
    int max_v = 0;

for (int i = 0; i < 256; i++)
    {
     if ( inp[i] > max_v )
      {
       max_v = inp[i];
       max_i = i;
      }
    }
    Serial.println((String)"\nGlobal Max is " + max_v + " at index " + max_i +"\n");
    //Serial.println(max_v);

int N = 10;   // loc max neighborhood size
int cnt1 = 0;  // count number of local maxima
int cnt2 = 0;  // count number of distinct local maxima

for (int i = N-1; i < 255-N; i++) 
  {
      bool loc = true;
      for (int j = 1; j < N; j++) // look N-1 back and N-1 ahead
      { 
        if (inp[i] > inp[i-j] && inp[i] > inp[i+j]) loc = false;
      }
        if (loc == true)
        {         
        cnt1 = cnt1 + 1;
        val1[cnt1] = x[i];
        ind1[cnt1] = i;
        if (x[i] != val1[cnt1-1]) 
        {
           cnt2 = cnt2 + 1;
           mult[cnt2] = 1;
          }
        else 
        {