How to find what sketch is loaded?

I'm an Arduino novice. Started with a UNO R3 months ago and had lots of help here. Other things intervened and so just getting back into it and having to relearn some basics.

I have half a dozen ATM328 chips onto which I uploaded various sketches during that initial period. Some were moved to run independently on a breadboard. My note-making wasn't as thorough as I intend it to be in future, so I'm unsure what sketches are on what chips. Apart from recognising the sketch when run (like my trivial edit of the default 'Blink'), is there some way to discover the loaded sketch please?

Terry, UK

Normally it is not easy. It requires pretty advanced technique.
Sketch has only what is programmed, except some additional stuff needed for Arduino.
If you are using serial line you can send some message at startup like prog. name and its version.
More advanced is to have some kind of signature, let say a few bytes at fixed address in flash, usually at the end. This type is used e.g. by the OptiBoot bootloader. I think, last two bytes in boot region mean its version. However, you have to know how to read out this information.
There are surely other options. The only limitation is your imagination and knowledge.

Serial.println( FILE );

Place in setup() after Serial.begin(). You can make this the default by editing the BareMinimum example sketch. The IDE uses this as the template for file/new. The DATE & TIME macros are also available.

Thanks both.

@tf68: I'll try that on my next session and onwards. So no way to tell what sketch an existing UNO board is running?

Terrypin:
So no way to tell what sketch an existing UNO board is running?

You would need to compile all of your sketches, saving the hex file from each, then read back what is stored on each UNO and compare it against each hex file until you found a match.

@david_2018: Thanks, that's an interesting technique but I'm uncertain about a couple of points: