How to generate a chirp signal from Arduino Due

Hi Everyone,

I am new to Arduino. I just purchase Arduino Due for my research project, since it has two analog output.

I was wondering if it is possible for me to generate a chirp signal as a continuous analog output by Arduino Due? I am trying to use this chirp signal to modulate LED. Any suggestions or advices are highly appreciated!

Thanks

What are you calling a "chirp signal". You want it to sound like a bird? And how is it going to "modulate LED"

Hi, thanks for your reply.

A chirp signal's frequency is changing with time, which could be generated on Matlab. Ideally, the brightness of LED could be modulated according to this changing signal, since the brightness of LED could be linearly related with the applying voltage.

Arduino's "analog outputs" actually are pulse width modulation, that is, the "analog voltage" is in reality the average value of an input that rapidly switches between 0 V and 5 V. The frequency of this switching is generally fixed while the duty cycle, that is, the relative duration of "on" and "off" changes. I've never heard "chirp" used to describe this, rather "chirp" is a time varying frequency.

PWM can be used to vary the intensity of a LED and is in fact one of the basic examples provided with the IDE. Without knowing your application, it's not clear whether is satisfies your particular need. To the human eye, such an LED can be indistinguishable to one driven by a fixed current, but to a faster receiver it looks like a series of pulses.

By "chirp signal " , do you mean this:

from Chirp - Wikipedia

A chirp signal can be generated with analog circuitry via a voltage-controlled oscillator (VCO), and a linearly or exponentially ramping control voltage. It can also be generated digitally by a digital signal processor (DSP) and digital to analog converter (DAC).