How to get code-snippet to only 'loop' once?

Hi!

I have a motor with rotary encoder. And code to count the pulses, and ability for this motor to go up and down, to save a position and to erase this position from memory.
When the motor goes by this position, it stops for 1.5 second (delay).
But the problem here is that it continues to loop this code, and continue to loop the message “Users Stop”.
I can get out of it by pressing up, but it takes some time for the 1.5 seconds to finnish and then it moves out of its position.
If I could get it to “read” this stop only once, and display the message only once, it would just work better and be more user friendly.
Any suggestion on how can do this? (I am a newbie to this so plz be kind).
Should I have a variable of some sort? Or is there a more obvious way to solve this?

Here is the code snippet that recognises the saved position, and makes the motor pause for 1.5 second.

// ---- This code stops the motor at the saved position.

{
    if ( UserStopPulseCount != 0 && PulseCount >= UserStopPulseCount - 15 && PulseCount <= UserStopPulseCount + 15 )
    {
      digitalWrite(controlPin1, LOW);
      digitalWrite(controlPin2, LOW);
      lcd.setCursor(0, 1);
      lcd.print("Users Stop");
      Serial.println("Users programmed STOP activated");
      delay(1500); 

}
  }

You need to post the complete program so we can see the context.

A common way to ensure a piece of code only runs once is to have a variable that counts how many times it runs.

...R

Because you have:

if ( UserStopPulseCount != 0 && ...

you could add this line inside it to prevent it from triggering again until UserStopPulseCount is set again:

UserStopPulseCount = 0;

Unikron:

But the problem here is that it continues to loop th.is code, and continue to loop the message “Users Stop”…

Don’t over think this, it is really very simple.