How to get PIR sensor activating 12v DC motot forward and reverse?

Dear community,

An absolute newbie here with ZERO experience in electronics and need your help.

I am building an art installation which gets activated with a PIR; which starts a 200rmp 12v DC motor (pulling up a 4 meter light weight cotton fabric and LEDs) for 3 seconds; stops for 5 seconds, and then reverses for 3 seconds (going back to starting point). and then Loops everytime PIR gets activated.

Now, I understand I need a TIP120 Darlington transistor, 1UF capacitor, 12v SPDT Relay, external battery. Do I also need a H-bridge or should I get a shield or would the relay be sufficient?

Also, there are 4 different points (4 different DC motors, PIRs and LEDs) where this placed; so I am keeping 4 separate boards. How do I connect them together to same battery system?

How do I assemble this? I understood the PIR circuit and the DC motor circuit from tutorials, but the above things, relays and H-bridge and the reverse bit are confusing me.

Please help.

One relay won't drive one motor in two directions. It's best to get an H-bridge shield. Then you can control the motor speed too. (You probably want to drive much less current for the "down" motion as gravity is helping.)

4 boards can share one power supply. Just watch out for the last one in the chain, on the longest wires, will get less voltage than the first one. Once you get to 20ft or so, then the voltage drop on thin wires can be significant.

Thank you for that, I can split it in half the; 2 on left and 2 on right and i will keep in mind the 20ft tip.

Can I use a L293D Motor Driver instead?

Yes an L293D is an H-bridge inside a single chip. It's an older technology but still useful if you don't need maximum performance or larger motors.

MorganS: One relay won't drive one motor in two directions.

DPDT?

OK...

One relay won't drive one motor in two directions and stop. The OP did ask for it to stop at several points in the cycle