How to have two seperate inputs from the serial port

I'm new to programming so try to bear with me. I'm able to input one set of numbers from the serial mode using Serial.read().

My question is how to input another set of numbers into a different function?

For example, the question is "How tall is something?". I want to input a set of values for that question in the void loop() function.

Then I have another question that is "How long is something?". Then I want to input another set of values for that question in another function so it can be called upon later.

Do I use serial.read for both of them, or what do I do?

HELP PLEASE

Do I use serial.read for both of them, or what do I do?

Yes. Suppose that you write a function, called getAnswer(). You'd have another function call askQuestion().

Once you call askQuestion(), you'd set a state that defined where the value from getAnswer() goes. When getAnswer() reports that is has an answer (because the function blocks waiting for the answer or because the function sets a flag indicating that the answer is complete), the state variable defines where the answer goes (height = getAnswer(); or length = getAnswer();).

So I will only use the serial.read() in the getAnswer() function? Not in both, is that what you're saying?

Also,
would it be better to make each of those out of the void loop or try to keep one of the functions occurring in the void loop?

So I will only use the serial.read() in the getAnswer() function? Not in both, is that what you're saying?

Yes, you would use Serial.available() and Serial.read() in getAnswer(). There is no need to read anything in askQuestion().

would it be better to make each of those out of the void loop or try to keep one of the functions occurring in the void loop?

There is no void loop. There is a loop() function that has a return type of void. No one talks of the "int analogRead". No one should talk of the "void loop".