How to Identify pins

Is there a way to see which buttons/switches/selectors are connected to which pin on the Mega2560. I have an existing box (EFIS for a flight simulator) which has to be reprogrammed. I mean not physical but a script/program which shows the pin number if I push a button for instance. I'm a rookie :wink:

No! the Microcontroller has no real world reference.

@caheyne, your topic was moved to a more suitable location on the forum.

Who says that all buttons are connected directly to the Mega. To know that, you will have to open the box and than you immediately know anyway.

I think you can do it with a simple sketch.
This one assumes pins connect to Gnd when buttons/switches are pressed.

byte x;
void setup(){
Serial.begin(9600);
  for (x = 2; x<70; x=x+1+{
  pinMode (x, INPUT_PULLUP);
  }
}
void loop(){
for (x = 2; x <70; x=x+1){
  if (digitalRead(x) == LOW){
  Serial.print ("D");
  Serial.print (x);
  Serial.println (" is low");
  }
}

@CrossRoads, what happens if the 'box' uses external pull-down resistors.

I've done that, they are all connected via a ribbon cable and connection board, impossible to see which button goes to which pin

Then look for a HIGH instead.
Or just report whatever is seen, with a short delay between each,
or read one at a time and use one of them as toggle to indicate to read the next pin.

Okay, sounds like a plan. Do you have a brief instruction how?

Did you see the sketch above?

Yep, I'm gonna try that one, thanks

In case any of the switches are in a matrix, this sketch sets each pin LOW in turn to see if pressing a button connects one pin to another. Buttons that Ground a pin will report a flood of:

Dn is changed when 2 is set low. 
Dn is changed when 3 is set low. 
Dn is changed when 4 is set low.
Dn is changed when 5 is set low.

If a button is part of a matrix that connects Pin X and Pin Y it will report:

DX is changed when Y is set low. 
DY is changed when X is set low.