How to install aduino program into computer? Getting error codes alot. Help me!!

hello, my name is elliott. And ive been having trouble with istalling the adruino uno into my computer. When im in the probgaram and try to upload somthing to the board it says avrdud: sl-k500_getsync( ):not in sync: resp=0x30 avrdude:stk500_disable( ):protocol error, exept=0x41, resp=0x51 or it says avrdude: ser_sen( ): write error: Sorry no info avail Im and doing a project with arduino because im makeing a lol shield from jimmy p roger. And i have windows 7 64 bit. If someone can tell please what im doing wrong that would be great. Also right now im getting the second error the most. its only when the file goes corrupt is when i get the first. But please this is my first time ever with arduino and i spent about 100 dallors on this project. Im only 13 and i really want to get in the technology area/feild. So please if you can some one out there please help me. Thanks and have a great day. Elliott

You're on the right track. The Uno has in it a small program called a boot loader. Its the boot loader that accepts a program from your Windows 7 PC. The errors you report indicate that for some reason, that boot loader is not able to accept the program.

In the Arduino environment, check to make sure you have the correct Arduino type selected. Make sure you have the correct COM port selected. Make sure everything is hooked up correctly.

Thanks for the fast input. But how do i know if i have the right com or not?? im on com 3

Weres the aduriono eviorment. Sorry for these questions you might think are stuipd but this is my first time with arduino. And its been playing with me, all two days. By the way im hooking up a lol sheild with this aka lots of led shield so if you can help me some more that would be great. :D

@lolsheildfun