How to load an Arduino with a Quasi-duino boot loader for a Sonic Screwdriver

So I'm completely new to arduinos and I really don't have much electronic background, but I'm doing a project for my boyfriend for his birthday because he completely loves Doctor Who. I'm running into problems with the sound circuit, aka all of the arduino. The instructions are here Working Sonic Screwdriver : 10 Steps (with Pictures) - Instructables in step 7, but basically what it says is to install the Quasi-duino boot loader to the Arduino. I wish I could say I've made some progress, but quite frankly I don't even know where to begin :wink: the instructions for that are posted here The $9 Quasi-duino (Almost-duino) : 6 Steps - Instructables, but as I said I really haven't made much progress on that and I've been working on that step alone for a few days. Any advice or help (or even what I need or where to start?!) would be GREATLY appreciated!!

"I haven't made much progress" doesn't help us help you to make progress.

What exactly is the problem? Where are you stuck? Do you have the breadboard and the ATmega328p? How far have you gone?

How far did you get into the Quasi-duino instructions before something went wrong?

If you have a second Arduino UNO with a socketed processor you can use that instead of the breadboard for burning a bootloader. See: "Minimal Circuit (Eliminating the External Clock)" in http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard

I’m stuck on connecting all the wires basically. Where it says to connect MISO, MOST, and SCK to D11, D12, and D11, I’m a little confused. I’m assuming that the D11 and D12 he’s talking about is on the arduino digital side, but how would you attach two wires to D11? Solder the wires together? Sorry if this a totally basic question, still learning!

Please don’t post the same question mulitple times. It just wastes time.

cassandra007: