How to make a pc controller to send commands to a specific game

I started playing Ship Simulator Extremes, and I got to thinking about what it would take to make a custom controller for it. At one point a device called the ShipDriver was produced, but it has been discontinued, doesn't do exactly what i want, and it's more fun to build than to buy.

What I'm thinking:
A controller that should fit on your lap with things like two azimuth thrusters, rudder wheel, side engine thruster throttles, etc. It would also ideally communicate to the PC via bluetooth, since I play on the TV while sitting on the sofa. Buttons and flashy lights are a given.

I only have experience building the projects in the Arduino starter kit, so I know I have a lot to learn, but the big thing that seems like a mystery to me is how you would interface with the game. For example, how to tell it that the value coming from this potentiometer should should set the right engine throttle.

With a little bit of Googling it seems like the UnoJoy is a good way to present the controller to the PC, I'm just not sure how to "talk" to the game. (And how to build those azimuth throttles, but that's another question.)

Thanks for the help and the resources!

Have the arduino be a USB keyboard (I believe the Leonardo is the choice for this), and then remap the game controls to the USB keyboard, or have the arduino emulate the keystrokes required.

Marmotjr:
Have the arduino be a USB keyboard (I believe the Leonardo is the choice for this), and then remap the game controls to the USB keyboard, or have the arduino emulate the keystrokes required.

Thanks for the reply Marmotjr!

That seems like it would be a good and simple way of handling the digital side of things, but what about all of the analog input for a game like this?