How to make a push button override a timer?

Hey guys, just to start off, I'm a complete noob with arduino. So sorry about my lack of knowledge about the code...

I have just purchased a seeedstudio relay shield. I took a look at the sample code for it, and I have written a simple sketch that counts for 8 hours, then flickers the lamp on and off 5 times.

I have a simple spst push button that I want to toggle the lamp on and off when I press it, acting as an override for the timer.

When the button is pushed and released, the lamp should turn on, and when it is pushed and released again, it would turn off. I need this to work anytime, just in case I need to turn my lamp on or off during the day when the lamp is supposed to be off.

Help would be greatly appriciated!

Squerl101: I have written a simple sketch that counts for 8 hours, then flickers the lamp on and off 5 times.

But you're not going to share it with us?

You probably need to get rid of the delay() calls in your code.

I'll be uploading it in a minute, as I am using my iPad now.

PLEASE BEAR WITH ME, I KNOW IT'S A MESS. I don't know much about the Arduino language just yet. Here is the code so far just to make the timer work. The digitalWrites make the lamp and the buzzer sound.

//Simply gives the pins some names...

int lampPin = 4;
int buzzerPin = 13;

//Setup Code...
void setup () {
  pinMode(lampPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(buzzerPin, OUTPUT);
}

void loop () {
  digitalWrite(lampPin, LOW);
  delay(28800000);                       //Counts from 10 PM to 6 AM.
  digitalWrite(buzzerPin, HIGH);         //Starts flickering the lamp and making the buzzer sound to wake me up :)
  digitalWrite(lampPin, HIGH);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(buzzerPin, LOW);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(buzzerPin, HIGH);
  delay(500);
  delay(500);
  delay(500);
  delay(500);
  delay(500);
  delay(500);
  delay(500);
  digitalWrite(lampPin, LOW);          //Stops the flickering.