How to make and control ultrasound frequency

I'm a beginner at arduino. For a project I want to create standing ultrasound waves and be able to change the frequency. The circuit also has to be waterproof.
I have these two items JSN-SR04T Ultrasonic Distance Measuring Sensor - Waterproof and Weather-proof Ultrasonic Sensor (SEN0207).

you need to investigate ultrasonic transducers, the devices that generate ultrasonic energy for cleaning devices. they are not chump change cheap.

1 Like

People usually use the timers that are present in most microcontrollers. The details vary, so look for tutorials specific to the Arduino you plan to use.

I have different parts as you can see

If you substitute parts, they may not work as in the tutorial.

1 Like

Thank you. So, even though the ultrasonic transmitter is supposed to only do 40kHz, I can change it through arduino programming to something like 20kHz?

No, the sound is produced by a piezo that is resonant at the frequency. IF you really want to produce sound frequencies over such a broad range, look for "tweeter" type speakers that can reproduce the frequencies you want, and then build/but amplifiers that can drive such speakers.
Paul

1 Like

Thank you so much Paul! Do you have any certain tweeters that you recommend and can they be waterproof?

No, never had a need for either. I am sure you can do an on-line search as well as I can. What is the point of waterproofing? That would destroy the frequency response range.
Paul

1 Like

Ok. Thank you so much for informing me. I'm trying to create standing ultrasound waves underwater to flocculate algae, so that's why I was looking for something waterproof

You will need many, many watts of audio power to apply much sound energy to water, no matter the frequency.
Paul

1 Like

Paul is correct. Energizing a piezo at its resonant frequency will have much higher "gain" than off frequency. However off frequency will work.