How to make arduino do 2 things at once

Hello all!

I am kinda new to arduino.
I am using it with 8 relè board; relays are connected to a line of lamps. The lamps should switch on in sequence and very fast.
I used a for cicle like that:

#define DELAYTIME 50
int tempo[8]={100,90,80,70,50,50,50,40};

for (int i=0; i<8; i++)
    {
      digitalWrite(i,HIGH);
      delay(DELAYTIME);
      digitalWrite(i,LOW);
      delay(tempo[i]);
}

I should have that exact time sequence in switching lamps on but the problem is that laps take their time to warm up and light on; so what I get is that no lamp switch on at all.

I think I should find a way to do 2 for cycles at once. . . the first one just switch on lamps with the needed delays; the second cycle starts a bit after the first (enough time to warm lamps up) and the just switch off lamps with the same delay they were switched on.

My problem is that if I write 2 for cycles in serie, the second starts when the first is finisched and not just a bit after the first is started.
Then I would tweak the start delay of the second cycle to do the best to have lamps fully bright.

I hope I was able to explain my problem and I hope also there is a solution!

Thank you so much

Mic

Usual advice:

1. get rid of all calls to “delay()”
  2. read the blink without delay example, without delay.

Drop all use of delay(). See blink without delay - in examples.

Mark

But at some point the millis(); will roll over. Something like 70 days I believe? How does one make up for that? currentMillis will be less than previousMillis after the rollover thus leaving you with a value that is less than interval because technically it will be negative. Or....if it is unsigned it will be far greater than interval thus meaning you never met your interval. Course the next question you need to ask is...are you really planning on running it for over 70 days?