How to name optional arguments in method call?

G’day, Arduino Community.

Just to give you my background, I am a (very) old hand at programming (or, to use that newfangled term, “software development” ;), with older experience in assembler (for various microcontrollers and microprocessors) and C (not C++, though). I have more recent experience in C# (so far, my only exposure to OOP methodology). (Well, to be honest, I have even OLDER experience in writing FORTRAN using key-punched Hollerith cards, but let’s not go there. :wink: ). In the past, I have had some exposure to writing for AVR microcontrollers (in C and assembler), but I am a very new noob to Arduino and C++.

My Question:

So I am writing and testing a C++ hardware device library for Arduino (hopefully, for eventual release to the Arduino community). In my library’s class constructor I have a method with three optional, defaulted parameters. So, in my library’s header file (say, MyDevice.h) I have something like:

class MyDevice {
  public:
    // Constructor:
    MyDevice(byte pinNumber = _DVC_DFLT_PIN,
             unsigned long onTime = _DVC_DFLT_ON_TIME,
             unsigned long offTime = _DVC_DFLT_OFF_TIME);

// No destructor required.

... // the rest of the class declaration.

}

... // the rest of the header file.

So now, in the sketch (funny name for a program, but, okay :wink: ), I am trying to figure out how to name optional arguments when I instantiate the class (i.e. in the constructor call), but cannot seem to find out how to do this. In other words, suppose I just want to specify, say, the third argument, and default the first two. How would I do that when I instantiate the class?

In C# syntax, it would look something like this:

// Default the device's pin number and on-time, but
  // set off-time to 5 seconds instead of the default.
  MyDevice myDeviceInstance = new MyDevice(offTime: 5000);