how to power 50 arduino nano's off one power supply?

hello
im new to the world of arduino and i have a work project where i need to power 50 arduino nano boards off perforably off of one power supply. i would like to use the mini usb connector that is built in to supply the voltage to the board to keep things easy to remove and reprogram when needed. each nano will have 3 3mm blue leds running all the time as blinking lights via a timer. with that said i just don’t know what 5 volt power supply to get and how many amps i will need. i would think a 5v 14 amp 70 watt mean well NES-75-5 would do the trick but i wanted to make sure that the boards can handle that power supply with that amperage running through it.

any help would be fantastic

thanks in advance

That sounds right to me.

Devices will only take the amount of current they require, provided you apply the correct voltage.

As long as the device is a regulated power supply, you're fine (there exist some old power supplies that are not regulated, often found as wallwarts - these provide a higher voltage than specified under light loads and can damage connected devices). These unregulated supplies are less common now than they used to be, but they do still exist, and it's hard to tell which you have without measuring it under no load conditions.

Hi,
Welcome to the forum.

What is the application that needs that many controllers?

How many LEDs is each controller using?
Are the controllers all in the one location?
What is your electronics, programming, arduino, hardware experience?
Is this a school/college/university project?

Thanks.. Tom.. :slight_smile:

Do these LEDs have to be 3mm?

I would suggest changing your design. Use 1 Nano and 150 ws2812 leds. You will still have individual control over each led, plus you can fade and change colour of each led. And if you need to change the code, you can do it once instead of 50 times!

Paul