How to power my final project

Hello, first of all I would like to give some background about myself.

I never did anything with Arduino before, this is my first project. I'm not very good at electronics, I am more software engineer.

What I am trying to do is make a TV remote controller. I already read IR codes that I need, I can transmit them, but now my project is in prototype state. (Breadboard, Arduino Uno is connected to my laptop).

Now I want to move this prototype to real remote controller. But I have no idea what can I do to power my Arduino Uno so I won't need to connect to laptop anymore. I know that I can use 1.5V batteries for this, but one question comes up in my mind:

Do my Arduino Uno will always need to be ON, for my controller to work? I mean, what I want to achieve is that my Arduino Uno would be off always, until I press the button, which transmits IR to my TV, and after that everything shuts down again. I guess this wouldn't drain my batteries that quickly, but I wonder whether this is possible? Cause now, when my Arduino is connected to laptop, even tough no program is running, my Arduino still has some lights on and etc. So it seems that Arduino always must be on power, and then when I press button it then only sends IR codes, but after that it is still on. I don't want that

Sorry if my question seems silly, but I would really appreciate any advice and explanation whether Arduino Uno is suitable for my final project.

To use IR I think there are more power saving Arduinos then UNO. However, to design Your system, using USB as pwr source, UNO is okey. Later You can use a pwr bank connected to USB connector.
Powering down after sending an IR code and starting up at next transmission is all ok.

Here is a good article on making a low power mega 328 stand alone board.