How to power stepper motor separate from driver?

Hello! I'm in the middle of building an Arduino based CNC mill. I have too many motors for the control board to power in parallel- it would overheat instantly. I don't want to do it in series either. Is there a way to take power from a CNC power supply such as this one and distribute it evenly to power 14 NEMA 17's? I am new to electronics and struggling to figure out how I would step down power. I've looked at UBECs and DC-DC converters, I just don't know how to get all of the steppers powered with 4v 1a each. Any help would be appreciated!

How are you currently powering the motors?

I can power 8 motors off of an Azteeg X3 Pro. One for each axis and four for multiaxial tool manipulation.

How many motors for each axis then? 14 is a lot of motors.

You want to avoid series because of the lower top speed I presume?

calculate Imax by how many motors will be/can be running at any one instant, add a fudge factor.
acquire a supply which can support the required current and less than the max voltage of your drivers.
parallel the external supply to the Vmot's, connect all grounds (arduino and drivers' Vmot gnd).

what's the problem? besides 14 motors is a lot of motors...

check the spec.s for your drivers. You can supply, say 12V, to the driver when it is connected to a 4V stepper. You just have to set the current limit, the driver takes care of the voltage required.

4 For Z axis, 4 for Y, 2 for X. The reason I have so many is because the tool space is 2M3 (1x2x1). CNC mills need to be strong to mill materials like metal, and this is an extremely large build space. (It's also multiple tooled: 3D printing and laser cutting are tasks in sight as well.)

And yes, the low top speed is what I want to avoid.

123Splat, I don't completely understand what you mean. I need 4V per motor at 1 amp each for 14 motors . Does that mean I need a 56 watt power supply? Where would I get that?