How to Program a DC Motor?

I have seen tons of google results regarding this topic, but none seems to be working for me.

I am really new to this, so sorry if it's a really newb question.

I am trying to program a DC Motor. But I'm not sure how to do so.

I am using an arduino Uno and a DC Motor. I don't have any motor shields or anything.

I want the motor to go from speed of 0 to max. I don't want any inputs, just want to spin the motor.

I wrote something like this:

void setup() {

pinMode(13, OUTPUT);

Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() {

digitalWrite(13, 255); delay(15);

}

That was just to see if motor spins, but it doesn't. I tried a servo example and saw if it worked if i treated it as a servo, and it worked. but I don't want that, I need it to spin. Can somebody please tell me what am I doing wrong?

Unless your motor is VERY tiny it will draw too much current for an Arduino pin to power it. You should use a transistor to handle the current. See:

http://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-arduino-lesson-13-dc-motors/transistors

You can drive small hobby motors directly with the analogWrite() - which will PWM (turn on and off really fast) to effectively provide 0 - 5v (depending on arduino) to drive the motor and adjust its speed - sort of. Its fine on motors with little load. For demonstrations etc.. As speed will never be constant without feedback, temps, humidity, motor wear, will affect 'speed'. So it depends on if speed control is to be relative (who cares how fast just as fast as possible or 1/2 that) vs calibrated (2200 RPM +/- X%).

But anything more than a hobby motor drawing ~40mA loaded, you're gonna need driver hardware, that would allow higher current and possibly higher voltage motors to be speed controlled this way.

Hrendor66: You can drive small hobby motors directly with the analogWrite() - which will PWM (turn on and off really fast) to effectively provide 0 - 5v (depending on arduino) to drive the motor and adjust its speed - sort of.