How to program a simple "if-then" program that triggers relays from pairs.

I have (4) 12v relays already controlled thru DMX. I have (8) new channels I need triggered by the 8 possible combinations of the first 4 relays. I've attached a PDF detailing each of the 8 events.

Motion Air bags (relays 1-4) Air blast (channels A-H)

1 Forward 1,2 AB 2 Back 3,4 EF 3 Left 1,4 HG 4 Right 2,3 CD 5 FL 1 AH 6 FR 2 BC 7 BL 4 FG 8 BR 3 DE

I'm a beginner to say the least - but I'm thinking I'll need some kind of an IF - THEN kind of program. So the "air bag" column will be the IFs and the "air blast" column will be the THENs.

Does this make sense? Is there a better method that will achieve the same results?

And can someone point me in the right direction (or even to a similar example) of what the code would look like?

Any help or thoughts would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance!

Sorry - the formatting is messed up and I can't the attachment to work. But the info should still be understandable.

If you put a space before the closing ) the smiley will go away.

I'm not sure how to interpret this

1 Forward 1,2 AB 2 Back 3,4 EF

5 FL 1 AH

Does it mean, for example that you want to turn on Relay's 1 and 2 and also channels A and B.

Or is something external (what?) switching the relays and the Arduino needs to detect their states and if both relays 1 and 2 are on it should set channels A and B on?

And what do the words Forward and Back and FL signify.

A series of IF statements, or a cascade of IF ELSE statements should be suitable

...R Planning and Implementing a Program

Thanks, response was on point.

Yes - the arduino will have:

• 4 INPUTS from 4 air valves

• 8 OUTPUT to 8 relays which control other air valves

I just need the signal In to be a trigger to energize a specific pair of relays.

FL = Forward Left BR = Back Right Etc.

Left, Right, Up, etc are directions a drop floor can drop to. Each of its 4 corners is controlled independently by air bags 1-4.