How to Purchase Servos

I am an evil genius and am hoping to make a small army of Arduino driven robots to aid me in my eventual domination of the world. But before that happens I need some servos, and after taking a quick look at some different sites selling them, I have no idea what kind of servos I am looking for or what I need.

In short I am new to the Arduino scene and don't know anything about servos. I need something that can drive small lightweight wheeled robots and can also do things like operate latches. If I need to buy two different types of servos, that is fine. My first big servo project is to make a robot that seeks out walls and runs into them.

Ebay, Ebay, Ebay.. from China on the cheap. Look for R/C hobby servos. You can find real deals on things like "9gram hobby r/c servos" at like ten of 'em for twenty bucks shipped.. just going to have to wait as much as 3 weeks for stuff to arrive.

R/C hobby stuff is one of the best sources, as they are usually designed to run at low voltage off batteries... I'm currently fiddling with a R/C car I got at Walmart for $7. For that $7, I've got a full rolling platform, steering (servos), the whole thing.. and can even control via the very basic (4 switches.. forward, back, left, right) remote from up to 75 feet, according to the box.. begs for a couple of transistors and Arduino control.

Other than that-- Printers. Old printers have some GREAT motors, as do scanners. For low-duty, you can even rip apart floppy drives for a couple of servos, encoders, and other fun things.

Dumpster Dive and Ebay from China.... gonna be your best sources...