How to read an input immediately

Hello all,

Please forgive me for being new but I am overwhelmed with the amount of resources out there for the arduino. This is my first project and was working fine until it wasn’t. A little background: This code was designed to execute a timer (two actually) to ring a bell and activate a light in a firehouse. It is triggered by an already existing system. When the existing system activates, the arduino closes two relays for a 2 and 60 seconds, respectively.

This issue that I have is that when the existing system is triggered, it holds 24VAC for 10 seconds. That signal throws a relay that gives the arduino 5vdc on pin 2. With my current code, the timers don’t start counting until pin 2 is low again; Meaning, 10 seconds of “button being pressed” + 2 seconds of coded timer = 12 seconds of output.

How can I execute a timer immediately before the “button press” is released? I’ve tried an interrupt, and a timed button (e.g. long press vs short press). I am unable to get either working correctly. Below is my original code that works fine once the button on pin 2 is released. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated.

/* Firehouse Alerting Timer
    version 1
    by Brian Clarke
    written 11/22/2016 at 23:24

This sketch uses an input from the existing alerting system to trigger two independent timers.  One for the bells & horn, and another for the strobe lights.
*/
const int Bell =  13;      // the pin of the Bell relay
const int Strobe = 12;     // the pin of the Strobe relay
const int triggerPin = 2;    // the number of the system trigger pin

int triggerState = LOW;           // triggerState used to set initial trigger position

unsigned long timerA;            //create timer to be defined in loop
unsigned long timerB;

const long intervalBell = 2000;    //Set individual timer length 
const long intervalStrobe = 60000;

void setup() {
  pinMode(Bell, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(Strobe, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(triggerPin, INPUT);
}