How to read pulses from wind sensor

Hello everyone,

I am trying to connect a wind sensor to my Arduino via I2C communication, but I have problems finding out the ID of the sensor using an I2C scanner. I have done a few minor Arduino projects before and I am familiar with basic electronics and coding. However, this is my first time working with I2C communication.

Hardware used:

• Arduino Nano
  • Thies Clima Wind Direction Transmitter Type 4.3129.03.000
    (I have attached the datasheet. Unfortunately, I have only found it in German.)

Software used:

I have connected:

• sensor input power to the 5V Arduino power output
  • sensor ground to Arduino GND
  • sensor SDA to Arduino pin A4
  • sensor SCL to Arduino pin A5
  • two 10kOhm pull up resistors to SDA and SCL

When I now run the code, the I2C scanner gets stuck on “Scanning…” and nothing happens.

When I remove the SCA or SCL cable and restart the code, the scanner says “No device found”.
I have also tried to exchange my wind sensor by an OLED SSD1306 display and the I2C scanner worked perfectly. From this I conclude that:

• the code is working
  • the Arduino is working
  • the circuit is correct
    Hence, the problem must be in my wind sensor.

I have read several threads on this issue already and in most of the cases the problem seemed to be in the sensor connection. My cables look good and I cannot see any bridges but I would like to test that.

Do you have any ideas, how I can do that? Do I have to buy a multimeter and measure between the pins of my sensor like cattledog said in this thread: http://https://forum.arduino.cc/?topic=653140#msg4409267 or are there other ways?

Best regards.

4.3129.03.000_WR-Geber-compact_seriell_deu.pdf (341 KB)

Second link is not working. This is the correct one:
http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=653140.0

What happens when you change this line (in the I2C scanner)

for(address = 1; address < 127; address++)

to

for(address = 8; address < 120; address++)

?